Who We Are


Faith in Action provides spiritual, physical, and emotional support to seniors 60 years and over and their caregivers to maintain independence, dignity, and improved quality of life. We accomplish this through an interfaith network of volunteers, congregations and community organizations.


Faith in Action of Bloomington-Normal is a 501 (c)3 tax exempt organization recognized as not-for-profit by the state of Illinois and the federal government. All services are provided by volunteers.


 DorettaHerr Pollyanna  Jessica David Nybakke, Office Manager
 Doretta Herr
Executive Director director@bnfia.org
 Pollyanna Spears
Development Coordinator pollyanna@bnfia.org
 Jessica Shanahan
Volunteer Coordinator jessica@bnfia.org
 David Nybakke
Office Manager david@bnfia.org


Board of Directors


Board members are responsible for providing strong leadership and direction to the organization.

Executive Committee:

President: Carol Csanda
Vice President: Deborah Smith
Treasurer: Cory Hartke
Secretary: Eric Alvin

Members at large:

Eric Alvin
Carol Csanda
Laura Furlong
Matt Giordano
Cory Hartke
Valerie Hawkins
Aggie Hedin
Sandy Holcomb
Rev. Cheree’ Johnson
Karen Noels
Deborah Smith
Charlotte Talkington
Vicki Walsh


Supporting Congregations


These congregations within Bloomington-Normal share the vision of Faith in Action.

Calvary United Methodist
Christ Lutheran Church
Covell Community Church
Epiphany Catholic Church
First Christian Church of Bloomington
First Presbyterian
First United Methodist Church
Heartland Community Church
Historic St. Patrick Catholic Church
Holy Trinity Catholic Church
Moses Montefiore Temple
Our Redeemer Lutheran Church
Our Saviour Lutheran Church
Resurrection Lutheran Church
Second Presbyterian Church
St. John’s Lutheran Church
St. Luke Union Church
St. Matthew’s Episcopal Church
St. Mary Catholic Church
St. Mary Church in Downs
St. Patrick Catholic Church of Merna
Trinity Lutheran Church
Union Missionary Baptist Church
Unitarian Universalist Church
Wesley United Methodist Church